About This Channel

East Sussex Qualification & Assessment Centre (ESQAC)

We are an established training provider offering vocational qualifications and apprenticeships at different levels ranging from Awards to Diplomas. All our qualifications are supported by blended learning programs tailored to the needs of the learner.

The Centre was originally set up to meet the training needs of the Council’s staff, but we now offer our qualifications more widely. This includes being a Government-approved ‘main provider’ for apprenticeship training that starts from May 2017.

The Centre is approved by a range of Awarding Organisations and works to the statutory regulations of Ofqual. All of our work-based qualifications are part of the Regulated Qualification Framework, covering Levels 1-6.

Apprenticeships have changed

An apprenticeship is an opportunity to earn while you learn and get recognised qualifications as you go. They take between one and two years to complete, depending on the level.

National changes to apprenticeships mean that the qualifications will be available for a much wider range of roles over the next few years: from business administration and customer services through to careers in occupational therapy, social work and law. The introduction of a levy for employers also means that large employers will have to spend a certain proportion of their annual pay bill on training apprentices.

ESQAC is an approved ‘main provider’, meaning we can offer apprenticeship qualifications to Council staff and employees working for other organisations.

What does this mean for Council employees?

Apprenticeship training will be available free of charge to our staff. You will still need to have the support of your line manager to undertake the training.

  • Employees can found out more by visiting our intranet page on Apprenticeships

ESQAC can act as your training provider under the new levy. We can also offer you advice and support on recruiting apprentices.

Care Certificate for health and social care workers

The Care Certificate is an identified set of 15 standards that replaced the common induction standards for health and social care workers in 2015. Developed by Skills for Care, it sets out explicitly the learning outcomes, competences and standards of care that will be expected by new employees as part of their induction.

  • Read more about the Care Certificate on Skills for Care’s website.